"Power is no blessing in itself,
except when it is used to protect the innocent."
This historic quarter is home to both a medieval cathedral and an eighteenth century library. No less than 400,000 visitors per year visit Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, an architectural gem, a place of worship and residence for the well renowned Cathedral Choir.
Next door neighbour Marsh’s Library houses a collection of 25,000 rare and fascinating books. It opened its doors in 1707 and was the first public library in Ireland.
Saint Patrick’s Belfry, also known as the Minot Tower, was originally commissioned by Archbishop of Dublin Thomas Minot in 1362. It boasts fifteen bells, is made from Dublin calp limestone and its walls are ten feet thick.
Bell ringing, a traditional skill, is an enjoyable social activity for some members of the community. The Saint Patrick’s Cathedral Bell Ringers meet in the belfry for weekly practice on a Tuesday evening and also before Sunday service, as a traditional call to worship.
Founded in 1192 and built in an early English gothic style, Saint Patrick’s Cathedral is one of the largest cathedrals in Ireland. It was originally the site of a holy well which according to legend was used by Saint Patrick to baptise new converts to Christianity in 450 AD.
The interior is decorated with monuments and memorials to significant families and individuals connected with the cathedral including: the Boyle monument, the memorial to Archbishop Narcissus Marsh and a stone effigy of Fulk de Sandford, Archbishop of Dublin from 1256 to 1271.
In July 2014, the Tree of Remembrance, a simple neutral symbol and a memorial to all those who have been affected by conflict, was installed in the North Transept.